http://www.thedibb.co.uk/forums/Magic-Kingdom-Theme-Park-p-99.html

“Curiosity,” according to Google, is either:

  1. “a strong desire to know or learn something.”
  2. “a strange or unusual object or fact.”

I’m a girl who is curious about a lot of things, and I’ve accumulated many strange facts about such things. But there was always one thing I loved more than anything. You could even call it an obsession:

Stories.

Now when I say obsession, I mean a life-long, life-defining passion. I could recite the entire texts of Madeline and Snow White and the Seven Dwarves before I learned to read. I would always say it was a “blustery” day, a la Winnie the Pooh. I went to college for the sake of learning what makes a good story (among other things). You’ll often find me looking up Harry Potter facts, Sherlock gif sets, and Jane Austen fan discussions on my computer late into the night, when everyone else is asleep. So, I have a lot of “curiosities”: strange facts and thoughts about stories that I love discussing with people.

Now, there are a lot of places on the internet that talk about literature and media, and create some really awesome crossover material.

I mean, look at Smauglock:

https://i1.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lv726dn5AR1qif4j2o1_1280.jpg

That’s the epitome of crossovers right there.

Realizing these connections between our favorite works is funny, even thrilling. It adds new dimensions to works we thought we knew.

But I think sometimes we look at posts like this, and believe that pointing out similarities in works is enough to understand them. After all, as my mom always says there’s no such thing as an entirely original work. But the way a story is told, how the elements are utilized, the purpose it is aimed towards – those are every bit as relevant as the elements that make it up. The creatures and themes J.K. Rowling used in the Harry Potter books have been around for centuries, but she combined them in a way that made them seem new again. It’s powerful stuff!

My purpose, in this blog, is to explore these and other elements of popular (and not-so-popular) stories and fandoms, and talk about how writers use similar tropes to different effect. This can help us reflect on what we can take from these stories, as story lovers and as people 

I’ll be posting every Monday. Learn more about the blog here, about me here, and resources here. Check out the links for related works and Pinterest boards, and leave a comment to let me know if you have any thoughts or ideas. 

Happy reading!

~ Kate

Leave a Reply

